Parish Council

“A parish is a definite community of the Christian faithful established on a stable basis within a particular church; the pastoral care of the parish is entrusted to a pastor as its own Shepherd under the authority of the diocesan bishop.” (Canon 515)

A pastoral council  acts as a consultative body in assisting the pastor in maintaining the Christian life of the parish community. Parish council members are representative of the various constituencies that form the parish family and have a vested interest in the life and development of the parish.

The council only meets from 4 to 8 times a year but its effect on the parish is important. For more information about the council see the March 2017 Pastoral Council Guidelines for Mary, Mother of Mercy. Please feel free to contact any of the following council members whose terms began on July 1, 2024.

Officers (parish council officers, with the pastor, form the executive committee):

  • Tim Davis, chair
  • Leo Kawczenski , vice chair
  • Susan Guydosh, secretary

Word committee (evangelization and education): Tim Housknecht (chair), Cheryl Hine, and Duane Porterfield

Worship committee (liturgy): Barb Willers (chair), Marc Albanese, and Sharon Dal Cero

Witness committee (outreach): Karen Salino (chair), Bill Carroll, Adele Jay, and Eddie Koh

Fellowship committee (social and communications): Russ Wedemeyer (chair), Liz Coats, Pat Dickerson, Jackie Leidenfrost, and Sheila Ryan

Minutes and agendas of the Mother, Mother of Mercy Parish Council’s meetings are available here. The Council’s next meeting will be on Thursday, June 13th, 7:00 p.m., at the St. Fidelis Friary Boathouse, Interlaken.

Parish Council Members 2024–2025
for the Parish of Mary, Mother of Mercy
(as of July 1, 2024):

Marc Albanese

Bill Carroll

Liz Coats

Sharon Dal Cero

Tim Davis

Susan Guydosh

Adele Jay

Leo Kawczenski

Jackie Leidenfrost

Sheila Ryan

Karen Salino

Russ Wedemeyer


Eddie Koh

Patricia Dickerson

Barbara Willers

The diocese highlighted the parish and the chair of the pastoral council in their Spring 2017 newsletter, vol. 5, issue 1.


Mass Times:

Weekday Liturgies:
Communion service at 9:00 a.m. at St. James the Apostle church.

Tuesday through Friday:
Mass at 8:30 a.m. at St. Francis Solanus church (Recitation of the Rosary begins at 8:00 a.m.)

NOTE: Weekday liturgies may be cancelled due to funerals or bad weather.

Weekend Masses:
4:00 p.m. at St. Francis Solanus, Interlaken

9:00 a.m. at St. James the Apostle, Trumansburg
10:30 a.m. at Holy Cross, Ovid

If you are unable to attend Mass in person due to health reasons, please see this list of ways to participate in Sunday Mass online.

Mass intentions: Those wishing to have someone remembered at a parish Mass may fill out a Mass Intentions Request form which is automatically submitted to the church office.

Sacrament of Reconciliation/Confession:

Fridays, 6:30–7:30 p.m., at St. Francis Solanus church in Interlaken or by appointment with a priest.

Private Prayer:

• St. Francis Solanus Church in Interlaken is open at all times.
• St. James the Apostle Church in Trumansburg is open most days from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

© 2024 The Parish of Mary Mother of Mercy
3660 Orchard St., P.O. Box 403, Interlaken, NY 14847

St. James the Apostle, 17 Whig St, Trumansburg, NY
Holy Cross, 7231 Main Street, Ovid, N.Y.
St. Francis Solanus, 3660 Orchard St., Interlaken, N.Y.
Diocese of Rochester

Scroll to top ↑
Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester   ·   1150 Buffalo Road   ·   Rochester, NY 14624
DOR Safe Environment Info   ·